Ashley Scott: a senior shoot between the dash

For Christmas this past year she gave me a beautiful gift that I will always treasure. It was a small book that held such powerful words. A book called The Dash.

Her senior shoot was a moment between the dash of her life and mine. Yes, in this little book the dash is referred to as the dates from the beginning to the ending of our lives. But it tells us that what really matters most of all is the dash between those years. For it’s not about how much we own and have but how we live and love our dash. It talks about if we could just slow down to consider what’s really true and real and understand the way others may feel. If we could just be less quick to anger, treat each other with respect and show our appreciation  and love for the people in our lives. If we would wear a smile more often…

This one little piece of history in my dash will forever live inside of me. You see, she wasn’t cancer free anymore. She had been in remission for 3 months and then it relapsed.

What amazes me is what I saw that day and still see to this day. A strong girl of FAITH.  Human, of course, with moments of weakness as we all have, yet still believing in a God who loves his children and SMILING.

She continues to fight this battle and detour in her life and I count it a blessing to have her in my life.

About carlalynnphotography

I love people. I love life. I love wearing my rain boots in the rain. I pray. I dream. I laugh. I cry. I write. I blog. I want to live my life to it's fullest. From making sure that my families needs are met; to shooting little league ballgames and lifestyle portraitures of seniors families, I consider myself blessed.
This entry was posted in Ashley Scott, Seniors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

