Ashley and her mom.

It was the only nice weekend we had in the month of January. Ashley and I had talked about it many times.

She wanted pictures with her mom. She wanted to take her mom and show her the detour road.  She wanted to tell her about the day we did her first shoot and show her where her favorite image had been captured.

Finally the day came.

I haven’t shared this with anyone. This was probably one of the “hardest” shoots I have ever done. A good kind of hard, if that makes any sense. The kind of “hard” our souls often need.

A “hard” that makes realize how amazing is the love between a mother and a child. How a child looks into the eyes of their mother for strength, security and approval. A kind of “hard” that shows you to smile and laugh even in the midst of the storms of life and a “hard” that reaffirms to you that yes, the little things in life, often are the most important.

As I watched them walk along the detour road, I had to stop shooting for a moment and take it all in. It amazes me how God puts certain people in one’s life for a certain season or seasons. Some come and stay. Others come and go. Either way, a piece of you is left with that person, that season of life. And it’s all those relationships, experiences and trails that mold us into who we are today. To then realize, that Ashley’s mom is doing the same. Ashley looks at her and says, “what’s wrong, mom?. Her response is, ” I am just taking it all in”.

So I challenge you, sometime tonight or in the next few days- to just stop for a moment. Look around you. Look into your children’s eyes. Your spouse. Let them know you love them. Take in the moment. Live it. Embrace it.

I give you a preview of the shoot of Ashley and her mom. I give you this girl. This mom. This detour. This season. All in hopes that you get a glimpse of what I see.

About carlalynnphotography

I love people. I love life. I love wearing my rain boots in the rain. I pray. I dream. I laugh. I cry. I write. I blog. I want to live my life to it's fullest. From making sure that my families needs are met; to shooting little league ballgames and lifestyle portraitures of seniors families, I consider myself blessed.
This entry was posted in Ashley Scott. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ashley and her mom.

  1. Christy dietz says:

    As I read this story about the photo shoot, tears were already in my eyes! Then looking at all the pictures you took, tears began rolling down my face……oh my WHAT A BEAUTIFUL Mother and Child!! These pictures and this story is just what so many people need right now. I love love love all of these pictures. We sometimes take things for granted and we need to take a step back and like you said let the ones we love know we love them!! Thanks for sharing Ashley’s detour.

  2. Angela Collins says:

    Carla, what can I say? You continue to move me in new ways and grab my soul with your photos and words. What a gift you are to Ashley and her mom and to us all. Thank you for letting us in for a glimpse into such a sacred space between mom and daughter. I am moved and I am inspired. Thank you, friend.

Leave a Reply

