Ashley Scott: LHS Homecoming

It was Homecoming for LHS. She had not felt great that day. In fact, she had not felt herself in awhile….
I had not been able to see her and I missed her. She rested a lot. Her body was weak. Her counts were so low they were almost non existent.
Till that day, or better yet, till a few hours prior to Homecoming, we didn’t know if she would go.
She pulled strength from somewhere and made her appearance.
Amazing…she is.
Overwhelming it was too, at least at first.
She turned down pictures. It was too much. We took her outside…
I believe she needed a minute to take it all in. To reflect. To take a deep breath.
As I watched her in her quietness- I captured this picture. I cannot imagine what was going through her at that moment.

Moments passed, she turned to us and I asked her, just a couple pics? She nodded.

Stunning she looked. Simply beautiful.

I can’t tell you how great it was for me to see her make this facial expression… it had been awhile since I had seen it. To be exact, it was since the day we did Chapter 1 of The Detour on that abandoned road off of Nolensville Road. I saw Ashley.

 

Though I can see the sadness in her face in this picture and at that moment as I was photographing her- I could feel it too, I still love this picture of her. In the moments of strength but also of weakness- her faith still shines…
I would be lying if I told you I had it all together- because I didn’t. You see, I left to go to my other shoot and as I was in my car, tears were flowing down my cheeks. I was asking God, Why? It doesn’t seem fair. The world continues and hers is still under construction…
And later that evening HE answers….
Through her mother’s text to me. She says for one day, I think we did okay.
About carlalynnphotography

I love people. I love life. I love wearing my rain boots in the rain. I pray. I dream. I laugh. I cry. I write. I blog. I want to live my life to it's fullest. From making sure that my families needs are met; to shooting little league ballgames and lifestyle portraitures of seniors families, I consider myself blessed.
This entry was posted in Ashley Scott. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

