Where Y’ At?

I am sitting in the plane leaving NOLA and headed back to BNA. I am at a place where my mind is racing and I can’t write down my thoughts quick enough. I am excited. I am exhausted. I have a window seat with the view of the vast sky and a sunset full of color. I have been given a glimpse of beauty.

You see, beauty isn’t the flawless skin of someone. Or the perfect lighting setup. Beauty is in the moment.

I really don’t know where to begin and I am afraid I may even jump all over the place and not make any sense at all. But there’s this small voice inside of me that keeps telling me that it’s really okay. Because it’s not about perfection or pleasing everyone else. It’s about capturing all the details, the moments and documenting them so that later in a day, or a year, or even a decade, I can look back and “feel” it all over again and perhaps others will feel it too.

I am me. You are you. We are each unique. With different qualities and flaws. We are all different. One of us is not better than the other. I am simple. I live a simple life. I have my passions. My family. My photography. My God. And I have a peace within me. Have I been lost? Absolutely. I have been judged? Yes. Have I been broken down and remolded like Ashley? Absolutely. Just in a different kind of detour. But it’s all those moments, trails, connections, experiences and emotions that make us who we are.

I came to PartnerCon 2010 as one person and I left as another. Yet, reaffirmed that I really didn’t need to change. It was okay for me to just be me. It may not make much sense to you but it couldn’t be more transparent to me.

I choose. I choose to capture life. I choose to photograph the little ones playing ball because makes me smile from within and often laugh.

I choose. I choose to do something for someone else because it is what my heart yearns to do. I choose to give Ashley a piece of me. Photographic moments that she can look back at and see her story at that time and place in her life.

But, really, she has given me so much more. More than I ever can.

PartnerCon 2010 wouldn’t have been on my path if it had not been for many little things…

My learning of Teen Identity with Tasra Dawson through the PPA magazine. The weekend in Atlanta at the Suwannee Book Fair with her team and family. The dinner talks with Ron Dawson. My openness to share where I was/am as a photographer and my life. Ashley. The filming and invite from Jim Collins, CEO of Pictage.

All these pieces that completed the puzzle. Creating an image in my mind that I will always treasure.

An hour and half of flight time has gone by….unbelievable. I have been writing this entire time and I have yet to begin. I am almost home. I am stopping for now. Because you see, my amazing family awaits me…

About carlalynnphotography

I love people. I love life. I love wearing my rain boots in the rain. I pray. I dream. I laugh. I cry. I write. I blog. I want to live my life to it's fullest. From making sure that my families needs are met; to shooting little league ballgames and lifestyle portraitures of seniors families, I consider myself blessed.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Where Y’ At?

  1. Charlee says:

    You are such a beautiful, loving, kind, extremely talented woman I am so pleased to cal you a friend there is no one else I would want to capture my family grow I look at all the pics you have taken of the boys over the last couple of years you have given me the gift of remembrance and memories we will never forget the chance to keep my boys little for a lifetime even if only in. pictures thank you for all you do you are truly an amazing lady.
    Charlee

  2. Ron Dawson says:

    It was such a blessing to have you at PartnerCon this year Carla. I think it is so funny that you came there not knowing anyone, not even who the “celebrities” were, but you left there the biggest “celebrity” of the whole lot. 🙂

  3. Bob Davis says:

    Hi Carla,

    It was inspiring to hear your story, to meet you and share in your experience & passion to capture the moment.

    You remind me so much of my wife Dawn, she too shares your deep compassion and caring heart.

    Keep following your path and remembsometimes God offers us detours & deadends to help guide us and maybe even cause us to slow down and be in the moment too.

    Blessings,

    Bob & Dawn

  4. Dawn Davis says:

    Carla Lynn, I heard so many wonderful things about you from my husband, Bob. I wish I could have been at Partnercon to meet you. It makes my heart so happy to hear that it was such a great trip for you! God is so amazing, indeed. Enjoy your family!!! xoxo ~ Dawn

  5. Jim Collins says:

    You rock.

    You know how I feel about you.

    JC

  6. Pingback: partnercon 2010 « Christy Penn Photography

Leave a Reply

